GF Spinach Quiche

I wish I’d  taken pictures of this dish, because it turned out so darn pretty. But it gets dark early here this time of year and I didn’t even bother. I’m sorry. I’ll update with pictures next time I make it.

This is kind of a kitchen-sink recipe. You can change it around to suit your tastes by adding any kind of meat or vegetable.

Gluten-free Spinach Quiche

1/3 brick cream cheese

4 eggs

2 cups milk

1 cup gluten-free Bisquick

1-2 cups chopped fresh spinach

1 bunch chopped green onions

1 4-oz can chopped green chiles

1/3 pound bacon

1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

2 Roma tomatoes

Chop up the raw bacon and start it browning while you put the rest of the quiche together. Set your oven to 325.

Use a mixer to mix the eggs and cream cheese together really well. Add the Bisquick and beat until smooth.

A note about gluten-free Bisquick: it comes in a tiny box and is basically gluten-free flour with leavening agents mixed in. It bares almost no resemblance to traditional Bisquick, which also has fat blended in. You can, however, make some fairly good pancakes from it, as well as biscuits, which I haven’t tried. What I like best about it is that it isn’t a single serving box, although it isn’t far from it. I was able to make pancakes and this quiche from one $6 box and I still have about a cup of mix left.

Okay, back to business.

Mix the milk slowly into the bowl with the eggs, cream cheese and Bisquick. You should now have a rather loose, watery batter.

Chop the vegetables and toss them in the batter. You can add whatever you have on hand, too. I had some left over taco veggies (cilantro, black olives and radishes) that I tossed in. I think mushrooms would rock in this recipe.  Cooked eggplant would be good. Use your imagination. Season the batter as you like–I usually add garlic, salt, pepper, parsley and red pepper flakes.

Grease a 9X13 pan. Don’t skip this step, because the eggs will meld with the pan if you do.

Pour the batter and veggies into the pan. Slice two Roma tomatoes and lay the slices on top. Sprinkle the browned bacon on top, and then top with the cheddar cheese.

Bake uncovered for 35 to 45 minutes, until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean.

My kids ate this with toast. I had corn tortillas with it.

Yum, yum!

Shared here. And here. And here. And here. And here. And here. And here. And here. And here.

1 Comment

Filed under body

One response to “GF Spinach Quiche

  1. Your recipe sounds delightful, even without the photo. I will be using regular Bisquick, but everything else you added will make a wonderful one dish meal.

Leave a comment