Review and Give Away: Crunchmaster Gluten-Free Crackers

Warning: This review is going to read like someone paid me to write it. Because I’m reviewing a product that was already one of my favorites before I was sent some to review for you. Since I’m in love, I contacted the company to see if I could get some of their product to share the love with you. This is the result:

You know what’s weird? I’ve found that one of the most difficult parts about being gluten-free is giving up the idea of certain foods, more than the foods themselves.

The idea of never eating crackers with my soup again, or snacking on crackers and cheese, or having something to dip into hummus with, is daunting. I mean, I’ve had some gluten-free crackers over the last two years of on-again, off-again gluten-free-ity. But they taste weird or they feel weird in my mouth–they look like crackers, but they aren’t crackers. Do you know what I mean?

They’re cracker impostors.

I live in a teensy little town in the middle of nowhere, on top of a mountain in the middle of the desert. I can’t run out to Trader Joe’s or Whole Foods or even a national chain grocery store for the specialty foods I need to make my digestive system happy. The flip side of living in a tiny town, is that I know the manager of the grocery store really well and he knows I can’t eat gluten. So, when something new and gluten-free comes in, he makes a point of letting me know.

And thus it was that I met Crunchmaster a few months ago and have eaten at least a bag a week ever since.

First the original flavor.

They’re made of rice and potato starch, with sesame, quinoa, flax and amaranth seeds, a touch of tamari and salt. (The other multi-seed flavors are about the same, but, you know, with flavors.) If you’ve eaten rice crackers before, you know they can have a kind of strange flavor and feel almost too light in texture. These are very mild, very crunchy, and feel substantial. They are a good, basic cracker that I’ve eaten often with soup, chili, peanut butter, cheese or just on their own.

My little store also carries the Rosemary and Olive Oil variety:

These are really special. They have an amazing flavor. Of what I have available to me locally, these are my favorite by a mile. That goes for all the gluten-free crackers in my store, not just Crunchmaster brand. They are awesome to just eat out of the bag.

Crunchmaster recently sent me a box with a bag of each of their multi-seed cracker varieties, plus a sea salt cracker. That was such a happy mail day! (Don’t you love happy mail days? They are so much nicer than bill and junk mail days.)

As a result, I got to taste the toasted onion variety:

Which completely blew me away. They have a sweet oniony flavor that is out of this world. Not only are these my favorite gluten-free cracker ever, they are among the best crackers I’ve ever eaten period. They are so good that I wish there was some other way to let people know they’re gluten-free other than posting “certified gluten-free” on the front of the bag. I know from experience with a husband who is not much of a food experimenter that gluten-free is a turn off for some people. And those people will miss out on these awesome crackers. Kevin liked these the best, too, and said “maybe I’ll listen to you about gluten-free foods now.” Score!

I also enjoyed the roasted garlic variety:

The garlic flavor is mild, and these reminded me a lot of the rosemary and olive oil style. Ruby liked these the best.

Lastly, they sent a bag of sea salt crackers:

These are larger, rectangular and not as seedy. They are perfect for eating with more elaborate toppings and are the closest I’ve tasted to a gluten-free saltine. Only better. They have a hearty, multi-grain flavor, are flakier than the seed crackers and had the perfect amount of salt. Ruby and I had an after-school snack of these topped with cream cheese and tomato, and it was delicious. I will be stocking up when I get to Las Vegas again next month.

So, I want to share my love of Crunchmaster crackers with all of you. Since I can buy my own original and rosemary olive oil crackers, I’m going to give these two bags that the company sent me away to a lucky reader. Here’s how you can get your name in the drawing:

1. Leave a comment here with your favorite gluten-free food.
2. Follow me on Twitter, then leave a separate comment here to let me know you did.
3. Follow me on my RSS feed or subscribe to my blog, then leave a third comment here to let me know you did.

That’s three chances. I’ll pick a random number from the comments on Saint Patty’s Day, which is Wednesday Thursday, so make sure you leave one for each. (Three comments) and also, make sure I have an email to reach you at if you win.

Feel free to share my contest with your readers if you think they’ll be interested (and you don’t mind the extra competition!)

In the meantime, check out the Crunchmaster website for a $1 off coupon if you can’t wait to try them yourself.

9 Comments

Filed under body

9 responses to “Review and Give Away: Crunchmaster Gluten-Free Crackers

  1. This is a great review. I have a sister who has issues with gluten and she is supposed to stay away from it. So when she comes over I try to make foods that are as gluten free as I can make them. I often resort to using rice with some sort of meat and sauce to go with it and actually found a recipe to make a quiche using a rice crust that we tried last time and it tasted pretty good. Rice and corn seem to be my favorite gluten free staples lol.

    My sister isn’t as careful as she probably should be, especially in the area of snacking and such, her main complaint being that the gluten free products she has tasted do not taste good. These sound like something she would really enjoy, she goes through crackers especially wheat thins like crazy. Thank you for spreading the word about them!

  2. I just followed you on twitter as CordyQ πŸ™‚

  3. I also have you on my RSS feed and I always look forward to your posts!

  4. Pingback: Tomato Poached Eggs | Live Once, Juicy

  5. Pingback: Unpacking the Definition of an Athlete | Live Once, Juicy

  6. Karen

    My favorite GF food is Soy Delicious ice cream!

  7. I love just plain popcorn! yum gluten free

  8. Blue Diamond Nut Thins are actually my favorite…really tasty by themselves or with cheese πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

