Body Love: My Feet

A funny thing has happened on the way to becoming a defiant athlete.

I’ve fallen in love with my feet.

It’s true. I can’t stop looking at them. I’m pretty enthralled with my ankles, too.

They’re strong. I have lovely arches and straight toes.

They supinate and give me shin splints, but I forgive them.

My feet are my early warning system when I eat food that makes me sick. Gluten makes them swell to twice their normal size.

My feet and ankles support my weight–all 340 pounds of it–with grace and beauty.

They’re big. I wear a size 12 shoe.

Did you know that big feet are good for swimming? Big feet are like flippers in the water.

I have duck feet, wide across the balls and narrow at the heel.

They got a full size bigger each time I was pregnant.

It’s hard to find cute size 12 shoes, but that’s okay because my feet like to be barefoot best.

But they’ve started a love affair with my new running shoes.

Ruby’s feet are a miniature replica of mine.

We have very long toes.

My feet are pretty. I never realized that before.

My husband has threatened to hide my gluten-free ginger snaps if I make him look at my feet one more time.

I’ll be pretty happy if falling in love with my body one bit at a time is a side effect of being a defiant athlete.

How do you feel about your feet?

6 Comments

Filed under body

6 responses to “Body Love: My Feet

  1. Love you, loving your feet.

  2. RachelB

    I have duck feet, wide across the balls and narrow at the heel.

    Me too! Also, high arches and high insteps. They are very specific about what shoes they like (i.e., not my most recent pair of trail runners).

    I am delighted by your ode to your feet! Function, form– what’s not to like? And this especially makes me want to stand up and cheer:

    I’ll be pretty happy if falling in love with my body one bit at a time is a side effect of being a defiant athlete.

    Seriously, word.

    • This might sound weird to someone who hasn’t lived it, but being gluten intolerant affected my feet almost as much as my belly. Swelling, super sensitivity and just all around discomfort down there. I sometimes say my feet are claustrophobic, because for years I couldn’t tolerate socks, any kind of enclosed shoe or even sleeping in a sleeping bag or with sheets tucked in. Once I gave up gluten, those things disappeared by at least 90 percent. It’s miraculous, this gluten-free thing.

  3. You have wonderful feet! Please drop by at toemail and checkout our foot wonders from around the world. It’s fun and maybe even therapeutic! 🙂

Leave a Reply

