The Defiant Athlete

Well, I decided to change the name of my athletic experiment one last time. Mostly because I straight stole the term Imperfect Athlete from Jayne Williams. I have a plan brewing to turn this experiment into the topic for the final project for my BFA, and I guess I should probably have an original name for it.

So . . . drum roll please . . . I am now a Defiant Athlete.

Why defiant?

As I stated in my last post, defiant means to contend or to fight. It also means to boldly resist an opposing force.

That opposing force is me. It’s my body image, societies expectations of me, my culture’s current insistence that because I’m fat, I must be dying. How about being slow to tune out well-meaning people who insist that I must focus on weight loss? And then there are those damned shin splints.

Here’s my definition of a defiant athlete: Someone who knows why they shouldn’t, can’t or won’t–why it might hurt, why they might fail, why they might be foolish–and then gets out there and kicks some ass anyway.

I felt like Superwoman at the gym today.

I want that feeling everyday.

So–I am a Defiant Athlete. Are you?

4 Comments

Filed under body

4 responses to “The Defiant Athlete

  1. meerkat

    Well, do you have to actually do well at some kind of sport to be an athlete? Because I personally suck at sports so I figure I am kind of disqualified from words that resemble “athlete” no matter how defiant I am.

    • Who decides what good is? Who gets to tell you if you’re good at sports? The first step to being a defiant athlete might be defying those answers.

      • meerkat

        You’re right, those judgments are completely arbitrary. It’s still going to be a while before I can stop feeling ashamed at my perceived sucktacularity though.

      • Here’s another secret: that’s okay, too.

        I think one of the bravest, most heroic acts anyone can undertake is to do something spectacular, even when they’re afraid they’ll be laughed at (even if, or especially if, the laughter they’re afraid of is internal.)

Leave a Reply

