GF Chiles Rellenos

(I’m having a Saint Patty’s Give Away here. Don’t miss it!)

The grocery store had some beautiful California Anaheim chiles, so I decided to tackled de-glutenizing chiles rellenos.

This wasn’t exactly a difficult job, because the crispy part of a chile relleno is not breading, its eggs. But you know–it still needed some tweaking.

These take a little time and get a bunch of dishes dirty, but are so so very worth it. Yum. We ate them with orange pork chops, which is another recipe for another day.

Chiles Rellenos

6 Anaheim peppers

6 ounces of cheese

4 eggs

1/2 cup GF flour or baking mix

1/2 cup frozen or fresh corn

salt and pepper

1 can enchilada sauce

Turn your oven to broil. Set your peppers on a cookie sheet and place under the broiler. Let them cook until the top is charred. Turn and let the other side char. Your goal is to have all sides charred and the pepper soft.

(I chose Anaheim peppers because they looked really good and because I cook for some whimpy child palates that can’t take too much heat. Poblanos are a little more robust and are also very very good in this recipe. If you have some people who really can’t handle any heat, you could even use sweet peppers, although I’d use half per serving.)

Once the peppers are charred, let them cool until you can handle them, then remove the skin. The skin will slip right off. (The middle pepper on the plate above has been skinned.) After they are skinned, use a butter knife and make a length-wise slit from the stem to the tip, though one side only. Use a spoon to scoop out all the seeds.

Stuff an ounce of cheese inside each pepper. I used string cheese because it was easy. I would have rather used pepper jack.

Prepare the roasted corn by pouring it into a hot, dry skillet. Just let it cook until it’s defrosted and then dries out and browns. You’ll actually hear it pop. When it’s done, spoon some into each pepper with the cheese, then wrap the sides of the pepper closed around it all.

Put some GF flour or baking mix (I used the last of my GF Bisquick, which worked out fine) on a plate. The flour is to give the eggs something to stick to, because the peppers are slippery.

Separate the eggs, putting the whites into a medium bowl and the yolks into a small bowl. Beat the whites until they form stiff peaks and the yolks until they are thick. Fold the yolks into the whites. This will give you a bowl of pale yellow fluff.

Heat the pan you cooked the corn back to medium-high with a little olive oil.

Roll one stuffed pepper at a time in the flour by setting it on the plate, cut up, and just rocking it back and forth. You don’t have to turn it all the way upside down.

Then dunk it in the eggs. You’re looking for a thick layer here.

Set the pepper in the hot oil and let cook until golden, then carefully flip (the cut will be down now) and let get it golden on that side, too. While that’s happening, prepare the next pepper. You have to be quick with the eggs, because they will start to fall and separate if you don’t.

Set all the peppers in a 9X 13 pan as they get done.

Pour a large can of enchilada sauce over them. I used green, because it’s more mild and I wasn’t going for heat. Red works well, too. So would a few cans of that Mexican tomato sauce. Yum yum.

Top with a little shredded cheese.

Bake at 350 for about half an hour. I turn the broiler on for a few because I like the cheese browned.

And there you have it, lovelies. Indulge!

(Every Friday I update my Defiant Athlete experiment. Subscribe to my feed here, if you like.)

Shared here. And here. And here. And here. And here. And here. And here. And here. And here. And here. And here. And here. And here. And here. And here. And here. And here.

9 Comments

Filed under body

9 responses to “GF Chiles Rellenos

  1. I have never seen chilies rellenos served enchilada style before! We just eat them right in their egg wrap. Looks great!

  2. These look delicious! It’s been a long time since I’ve had chiles rellenos, and it will probably continue to be a long time since if I made them, I’d be the only one eating them in my family. 😦

  3. Oh yumm! I love chile rellenos! I need to make these!!!
    http://www.inspired2cook.com

  4. The Tiny Homestead

    I never tried makes chiles rellenos before, but I will definitely try this. Looks fun (for the kids to help with) and delicious.

  5. Incredible!!
    Hope you might consider sharting this recipe at my weekly event titled Seasonal Sundays. As this recipe is quite theme fitting!

    Happy Sunday!
    Brittany

  6. I really like this idea! Could you just make up a batch for me???? Thanks so much for linking them up to Dining With Debbie:) Come again soon and often.

Leave a Reply

