Updated Playlist and a Meh Workout

I updated by playlist yesterday, partly out of necessity because I couldn’t figure out how to get my old one onto my new MP3 player in tact. Partly because I wanted to mix it up. Here’s the new list:

Rolling Stone: Honky Tonk Woman

Patty Smyth (Scandal): The Warrior

Katy Perry: Firework

Pink: F**kin’ Perfect (NSFW, see below for the PG version.)

Eminem: Lose Yourself

Wings: Helen Wheels

Abba: Dancing Queen

Alanis Morrisette: Bitch

The Cure: Video Killed the Radio Star

Pat Benetar: Hit Me With Your Best Shot

Lynard Skynard: Free Bird

I’m liking it so far. That Katy/Pink/Eminem block after I warm up makes me feel like a superstar.

So much so that yesterday my workout sort of sucked. It started out good. Really good. I felt like I was flying. Really, like I could take on the world.

I linked to the videos for the Katy Perry, Pink and Eminem songs. The Pink video is decidedly not safe for work or kids (or even for those sensitive to graphic images and the F word.) Here’s the PG version for you.  These three songs are one-two (three?) punch for me.

So I pushed my speed a little, because I felt like a perfect firework, right? And then my leg started to get stiff sometime around when Slim Shady is singing about his mom’s spaghetti. I backed off, eventually moved to the elliptical machine. (Have I mentioned? I hate the elliptical. It sucks so bad.) Then back on the treadmill once the pain went away in my calf for a slower finish to my workout.

I don’t know. The end result was that yesterday’s workout started awesome and ended with a big sad trombone…waa waa.

I’m finishing up reading Shape Up with the Slow, Fat Triathlete by Jayne Williams so that I can review it for you this week. (Hopefully tomorrow, definitely by Wednesday.) And there is a part I read this morning where she talks about how exercise should not be a celebration, not a drudgery. She mentions how she’s even seen people rollerskating with that look of grim determination on their faces that I see on most everyone at the gym with me. Today’s workout, my plan is to rejoice in the fact that I can move and listen to music and breathe deep and get a little stronger.

Screw the waa-waa. Who needs that?

Leave a comment

Filed under body

Leave a Reply

