Roller Derby Wannabe–Week 2

The Reno Roller Girls had an ad on Craig’s List this week inviting people to come skate with them. Any size, shape, etc. The workouts are three hours long, three times a week. Can I get there by my birthday?

Today marks the end of the second week of my athletic endeavor.  Here are some highlights of the last week:

1. It is very hard for me not to weigh myself after every workout. As a matter of fact, I failed in this completely this week. I’m putting it out there right now that I’m not weighing again until March 1. I need to break this habit. It’s disruptive. For what it’s worth, I lost 5 1/2 pounds this week, but was very bloated last Friday.

2. I worked out six times this week, walking 1.5 miles each time, for a total of 9 miles of walking. I’m adding five minutes at 3 mph this upcoming week. If I work out six times again, that’s 30 more minutes, or 1.5 more miles, so this week’s goal is to walk 10.5 miles.

3. I talked to my brother this week and felt very encouraged afterward. He offered to do a triathlon with me and didn’t seem at all unsure that I could do it. I’m not sure I’ll be ready this summer, since I don’t have access to a pool until we move to Carson City, but there is a big multi-day event at Lake Tahoe in September that has a 5K. It’s making my wheels spin. I’m not ready to commit yet, but it’s there, in the back of my head.

4. Nick started coming to the gym with me. I wasn’t sure he’d be as into it as he thought he would be, but it turns out he is. He can do 3.5/5.0 intervals for 35 minutes. Yay, Nick! Having him there is really nice.

5. My new shoes came this week. I love them. Really, really love them. I’ve never owned really amazing running shoes before. Not even when I was an athlete in high school. These fit my feet perfectly (They are Asics Gel Pulse 2. After reading reviews, I bought them a half size bigger than usual, but didn’t get them wide like I normally would. So I bought a 12.5 Medium, rather than a 12 Wide. Pretty awesome that they actually carried a size 12.5 in women’s shoes. I’ve never seen them before.) They are light and cushy and for the first time in my life (seriously) I am not 100 percent focused on my uncomfortable feet throughout my workout.  Last week I said I had an epiphany that I’m already an athlete. Having good shoes has really helped convince the reluctant parts of my brain that it’s true.

6. I bought a DVD called Heavyweight Yoga.  It isn’t here yet, but I wish it was. I’m excited about it. I’m taking a gym break today, but if this comes I’ll try it this afternoon. I really love that the woman who made the video really focuses on how a bigger body can move.

7. I’m reading Slow, Fat Triathlete by Jayne Williams, and her second book as well. I’ve read the first one more than once and it never fails to inspire me. There are a few hurtles, physically and mentally, about doing a triathlon. Things like being in a wet suit around tons of super fit people, riding a bike for the first time in 20 years and the distance between where I am now and the level of fitness I’ll need for even a sprint level triathlon (swim 750 meters, bike 20K and run 5K.) But again, it’s brewing. I like feeling like I’m in training.

8. It’s amazing how much more in tune I am with myself when I’m active. My workout was difficult yesterday. I finished, but my heart rate was higher and my muscles were crampy and achy. (I did actually jog, at 4.2 mph, for one minute at the end. Exhilarating!) I woke up this morning with a sore throat and congested head. In retrospect, it’s some kind of miracle that I didn’t get sick earlier in the winter. Between Ruby’s pneumonia from hell and her lowered immunity meaning she brings home every sniffle in kindergarten, it was nearly inevitable.

9. The left side of my neck and my left shoulder are stiff and sore and have been almost all week. I’m not sure what’s up with that. Ibuprofen helps, but it’s still there. I haven’t been doing anything to strain those muscles, so I’m not sure what’s up there. I’m an under pronater, meaning my feet don’t roll inward when I’m walking like they should (I walk on the outside edges of my feet.) My new shoes are meant to correct that, and I can feel it happening. But I wonder if somehow the under pronation is causing the pain in my shoulder and neck.

10. I need to take today to think about my strategy. I’m not sure if I want to continue with my plan to increase my length of time exercising to 60 minutes, or if I should stick with the 40 minutes I’m at, but increase my speed. I found a starting from scratch couch to 5K (the original couch to 5K is too advanced for where I am now.) If I follow that plan, instead of adding 5 minutes to my total workout, I’d do 14 minutes of walking, 1 minute of running, twice next week. Then 12 minutes of walking and 2 minutes of running, etc. It’s a slow build up program, 7 months long, designed for overweight people. At the moment, I feel like increasing my endurance is more important. I’m walking 35 minutes, including warm up and cool down, and then five minutes of really cooling down, right now and feel like that is the extent of my endurance. I need to improve that.

According to my current plan, I’ll add 5 minutes at 3.0 mph to my workout this week. I think I’m considering changing it, because I’m not confident I can do it. I’m going to give it a try tomorrow. Stay tuned.

Leave a comment

Filed under body

Leave a Reply

