Seriously Easy and Delicious Chili

I’m a little bit of a chili snob. My dad has always made the world’s best chili. The kind that burns your tongue off, but you can’t stop taking just one more bite because it’s so delicious.

I don’t do cans of chili. I like to make my own. I don’t, however, usually have the forethought to do things like soak and cook beans in time for dinner. So, while that would be best, I’ve learned to make a mean chili from canned beans.

Seriously Easy and Delicious Chili

2 pounds ground beef

1 28-ounce can crushed tomatoes

3 cans of beans, your choice (I like pinto, white and kidney. Or black, garbanzo and kidney.)

1 16-ounce jar of medium salsa

Frozen corn

Honey

Brown the ground beef, then drain it and give it a rinse. (This is just an old habit for me, the rinsing isn’t really necessary. But it does cut down on a lot of fat.)

Return the browned meat to a large skillet and stir in the salsa and can of tomatoes. Drain all the cans of beans and give them a quick rinse, too. Add to the skillet. Stir in honey to taste. We like ours sweet, so I usually add about 1/3 of a 12-ounce jar. If you don’t have honey, a few tablespoons of brown sugar works as well. Add frozen corn, too. How much depends on your taste. I usually throw in about 2 cups worth.

This is really a sort of basic recipe that you can tweak to your liking. I’ve added chopped fresh spinach, mushrooms, left over vegetables of all kinds. I’ve also made it with shredded chicken instead of ground beef, and I often make it without any meat at all (but then, use more beans or less liquids.)

We eat this with a dollop of Daisy, chopped onions and grated cheddar.

Yum yum. Seriously.

This recipe was shared here. And here. And here. And here. And here. And here. And here. And here. And here. And here. And here. And here.

3 Comments

Filed under body

3 responses to “Seriously Easy and Delicious Chili

  1. never thought about using salsa in chilli but it makes sense I also recently heard about adding salsa to meatloaf tried this and it was delicious

    • I never had either. But it really gives it a nice flavor. I use Pace Medium, chunky style. It doesn’t taste like salsa when it’s mixed with everything else. I was afraid it would be like taking spoonful of the stuff, but it’s not at all.

  2. This looks so YUM! I have a tried-and-true recipe that I love but I’m always on the hunt for new recipes. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

