Moving on

I started 2010 with one New Year’s Resolution. To give up dieting.

I went about it in a fairly convoluted way, with a complicated plan that fell apart in the spring.  But, I did manage to go a full year without dieting. I actually feel pretty good about that. My weight stayed about the same. I didn’t explode into a 400 or 500 pound news bite. 2010 was the first time since about 1980 that I haven’t been on at least one diet during the year. Usually, I try about one a month. I wasn’t sure what to expect from not even trying to lose weight. It was, actually, fairly anticlimatic.

So, for 2011, I feel like it’s time to take this one step further. And, in a way, a few giant steps back. No big plans, no attempting to hyper-organize every moment of my life. (That, much like diets, doesn’t work for me. I end up not doing ANYTHING, because it all becomes so overwhelming.) Instead, my only New Year’s Resolution for 2011 is to take no dieting to relearning how to enjoy food and movement.

Seriously, when was the last time you exercised for some reason other than losing weight? My brain holds the memory of what it feels like to move because pushing myself feels good. It remembers, somewhere, that once upon a time, it felt really good to use all my muscles with some goal in mind (a faster time, a better placing, learning a new skill . . .) other than the size of my belly or thighs. I just need to get there again.

So, this year, I become a foodie and I relearn how to move for the pure enjoyment of it.  I really do feel like this is the logical next step to the (for me) staggering accomplishment of not weighing myself or restricting my diet for an entire year. It took some time for me to stop craving mostly snack cakes and ice cream that I’d felt guilty about for decades. I’m ready for more. And better (tasting.)

In other news: I’m on Twitter at shauntagrimes and would love to have you as a friend. Will you add me? I’m slightly lonely over there.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

