I meant to write more…

I did. I swear.

I can hardly describe what this week-ish has been like. Intense. Insane. Incredible. Those are a good start, I suppose.

Today is the last full day of residency. I have a meeting after breakfast with my advising group (six students, all who have the same advisor…plus our advisor of course.) I have to nail down my study plan by five o’clock today.

Here is the thing about Goddard. I have never been in a situation before where every conversation I have or overhear is interesting. I hear snippets of someone describing their study into designing a different kind of school, or someone wanting to go deeper into understanding social justice as it regards some marginalized group–and I think me, too!

So I join a conversation. That’s so unlike me. I’m such a shy and socially awkward person in my real life. It’s why I’m more comfortable connecting with people here in impersonal internet land.

But how can I, or anyone, resist being part of a discussion about sustainable communities, or how death shapes a person? How can I resist talking to the man next to me who writes superhero comics, or the woman who is rooming down the hall who says she birthed poetry when she hit menopause?

I would defy anyone to remain in their protective shells in this atmosphere.

I have so much to tell you. So much to share. I’m so excited about my study for this semester. I’m studying character development, and also how women manage stress differently than men. And how women use writing to connect to each other, especially during times of social upset.

And! And the best part is that my little ‘zine idea? It’s going to be part of my work this semester. How cool is that?

Tomorrow we check off campus. I’m spending the day and night in Montpelier, Vermont (which is so stinking cute, I keep expecting Hansel and Gretel to come skipping around a corner and pixies to peek at me from the storybook woods).

Then I’m off on a train to New York City, where I’ll spend Saturday evening and all day Sunday. I met a wonderful woman who lives near the city who is going to spend part of the day thrift shopping with me. Then finally back to Las Vegas on a Monday morning flight, and home on Tuesday afternoon.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “I meant to write more…

  1. How great to be involved with such interesting fellow students! I can’t wait to hear all about it.

    Have a great time in NYC!

  2. It’s great to hear that you are having a wonderful time! What a great adventure! Have fun on your journey home! Can’t wait to hear more.

Leave a Reply

