Big Mistake

So, in my worry about getting my rather complicated travel arrangements for next month arranged, I made a big whopper of a mistake.

I booked my flight home on the wrong day.

Somehow I misread my paperwork about the day that I had to leave the school campus. I thought it was Saturday, April 17. Instead it’s Friday, April 16.

And then…and then…I booked my flight home Monday instead of Sunday. I don’t know why, or how. I knew that I wasn’t going to fly home on Saturday because the ticket was nearly twice as much as flying home on Sunday. But Monday? I think what happened was when I put my return information in, it gave me the choice of taking a flight that would get me home on Monday morning. I don’t know. I just don’t know.

The end result is, I have to leave the school on April 16, but my train ticket is for April 17, and my plane ticket is for April 19.

What a flipping mess.

I called Expedia today, to see about changing my plane ticket. They want to charge me $100 extra dollars, on top of whatever difference there will be for flying out on the weekend (and not as far in advance as I purchased my tickets initially.)

So. Yeah. I get three extra days in the beautiful northeastern United States.

I’m a silver lining kind of gal, so I’m trying not to be upset. There isn’t anything I can do, except be far more careful in October when I get to do this all over again.

I’ll be spending Friday night in Montpelier, Vermont. And then taking a train to Penn Station in New York, where I’ll spend Saturday and Sunday nights and then flying home early-ish on Monday morning.

I have three weeks to earn some money. The easiest and surest way for me to do that is to write for Demand Studios, who will pay me $15 for each article I write. I can write four articles in no more than an hour and a half. If I do that everyday for the next three weeks, it’s actually a nice chunk of money ($1200.)

If I’m going to be in New York City for Saturday evening and all of Sunday, I plan to make the best of it. I want to go to a museum on Sunday. Or a show? Something New York-ish. I’d thought about spending the one night I thought I was spending near JFK, but now I’m thinking I might as well stay in the city if I can find a room I can afford.

I also did some checking and I can rent a  car in Montpelier for less than $30 for the day. I think driving around that part of the country would be really amazing. Just me and my camera. (And maybe some thrift stores? I’m thinking of shipping my own clothing back home, so that I can have my suitcase empty just in case.)

So here is my question.

If you found yourself with one mistaken Sunday in New York City, what would you do with it?

3 Comments

Filed under mind, spirit

3 responses to “Big Mistake

  1. Oh you poor thing. So glad you are trying to look at the bright side of it all.

    Hope/praying that it all works our and may actually may be fun and exciting for you 🙂

    • That’s my plan. I’ll be pretty homesick by the time I actually have my accidental day in New York. But I think I’m going to stay at a hostel. It’s only $30 a night, right in the Chelsea district of New York. I Googled it, and other than noise from the street outside, no one had anything negative to say. I do talk in my sleep–a lot–so it might get embarrassing. LOL

  2. Oh my gosh! That sounds like something I’d totally do! I’m afraid to buy my tickets to see my sister graduate in May for fear I’ll do something similar.

    I love youth hostels! You could also try The Jane Hotel. read about it here :http://www.canoe.ca/Travel/TipsTrends/Trends/2009/03/30/8940971-ap.html

    Here’s their website http://www.thejanenyc.com/

Leave a Reply

