Strangeness–and Sewing

How weird is this? I turned on the TV last night when I went to bed and a show named High School Reunion was on. Apparently this is a show where they stick a dozen or so people from a high school graduating class together in a mansion in Hawaii and chaos ensues.

That’s not the weird part.

The weird part is that as I’m watching this show for a few minutes, I realize that they are talking about my high school. And then it becomes clear that they are talking not only about my high school, but my graduating class.

I told you. Weird, right?

And a little sad. I didn’t recognize any of the people. Apparently, according to the show, these were the popular people. And one nerd. Cheerleaders, football players. And some women who were in some group called the Summer Girls who were apparently the it girls back in 1989. Not only have I never heard of them, I’ve never heard of the Summer Girls either.

I was either incredibly clueless in high school, or this show has blown the Chaparral High School cliques all out of proportion.

I’m happy to report though, that there wasn’t one Summer Girl or cheerleader or popular whatever that I would want to trade lives with. They all came across in the show as more than a little pathetic. I’m hoping that it’s just the nature of this program, and that they aren’t really as sad as they were portrayed.

I’m also hoping that I’m not as sad as they were portrayed. Because that would be very sad.

No. I’m happy with my life. I wouldn’t go back to high school on a bet. I was so busy working full-time, taking care of my brothers while my step-mother was working or drunk and my father was in prison, and falling in love with a boy I’d eventually marry but who didn’t go to my school that there wasn’t a spare moment for Summer Girls or cheerleaders.

In other news:

I’ve been sewing a lot this month. I’ll try to get pictures this weekend to show you.

But I’m really excited by how comfortable I’m getting behind the machine. Super excited!

I’ve made those shorts that turned out to be underwear.

I’ve made a dress for myself out of some vintage double knit that I found at the thrift store. I’m pretty sure that I’ll never wear it because once it was sewn up the fabric felt awful on. But it fits like a glove, and I might have to wear it anyway. It’s a really cute red and white plaid.

I’m in the middle of making Ruby a pair of pajamas out of flannel from a vintage 60s pattern. They are so freaking adorable. Wait until you see her in them. I should finish this weekend. I have to do button holes for the first time and I’m nervous.

I’ve been sewing up shipping bags from kraft paper. They look really good, and I’m still going to get pictures up for you. I promise.

And my one small change for March is going to be…drum roll please…

Washable pads.

Scary. Exciting. Scary. I have some doozy periods, and I’m nervous that the washable pads aren’t going to do it. But I’ve read that women who have the kind of periods I do (very heavy for a three or four days) actually have easier periods when they start using cloth. I have all the materials to make up the pads, so I’m going to get on that this weekend.

What have you been up to?

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Strangeness–and Sewing

  1. I have looked up my graduating class on Facebook and there’s more than one whose name I don’t recognize and they aren’t in my year book either!

  2. It’s true: disposable pads have chemicals in them that can make your period heavier. Cloth is so much more comfortable, better for the environment, cheaper, and better for you.

    Additionally, you might look in to the Diva Cup (or something similar.) I’ve been using one for about a year now, and I’d never go back to pads if someone paid me. The thing is amazing, never leaks (I don’t even have to wear pantiliners), and is totally comfortable. The only “down side” I can think of is that you have to make sure you find public restrooms that have a sink in the same room as the toilet (usually the one-person bathrooms, like in Starbucks) so that you can rinse out the cup if you need to.

  3. I can’t wait to see your sewing projects! Especially the little jammies. It’s fun to sew for little ones!

    Of all the times I’ve been to my hometown, shopping on the main street, I’ve never run into anyone I went to school with. Or if I did, I didn’t recognize them. Nor did they recognize me!

Leave a Reply

