Grocery Round-up

Our plan is to do minimal shopping for the next two weeks in order to have more money available for our semi-annual case-lot/25%-off-the-whole-order-coupon shopping blow-out. (Doesn’t that sound like fun?)

This week’s flier is light on sales anyway, which I’m not complaining about. It would suck if I felt the pull to buy more.

Here are the few things we plan on buying:

  • The chicken brand that I feel comfortable buying has whole chickens on sale for $2.97/56 ounce. That’s 85 cents a pound, which is a great stock up price.
  • Tortilla chips are on sale for 84 cents. We’re trying to stay away from processed foods (okay I am, for all of us), but we do eat these with salsa.
  • 16 ounces of organic olive oil are on sale for $5.28. I’m going to take a look and see if this is more than 25 percent off.

That’s it. I’ll let you know if we actually stick to our guns here.

The best thing happened today. I was in the grocery store picking up a flier, and the manager (Kevin’s friend Ramos) ran out to me and handed me three sheets of paper and said, “You have homework.”

It was the entire list of Gluten-free food options open to them through their distributor. And he wants me to mark the ones I want him to stock! Corn Pasta! Some cereal other than Rice Chex! Sorghum flour! The possibilities are making my head spin. I’m so excited!

(As if the exclamation points didn’t give me away!!!)

More round-up here.

1 Comment

Filed under body

One response to “Grocery Round-up

  1. candy

    Dear Live Once Juicy girl,

    I so enjoy your articles. The gluten free tips are awesome too. I am somewhat new to this computer stuff, but I always look up your site. I do hope you get to move to Seattle someday its a beautiful city. I live near there and we love to go. We actually live closer to Portland OR and it is a great place too. Keep up the good work and thanks, Candy

Leave a Reply

