Green Chile Tacos

A few weeks ago I was supposed to go out of town for four days for work.

When that happens, which it does every couple of months, Ruby goes to visit Kevin’s parents. She is their only grandchild, and they love to spoil her. She loves the attention. Kevin doesn’t have to worry about an over-night babysitter since he works the graveyard shift. We meet in the middle, in a little town called Alamo, Nevada.

There is a little restaurant in Alamo that makes delicious homemade food, and has a sweet little bakery inside. Kevin and I stopped there for lunch after his mother and Ruby left for Las Vegas. Kevin had a French dip.

And I had green chile tacos.

Oh my goodness. They were so very, incredibly delicious. Just crunchy enough, just spicy enough, and just amazing all around. I had never heard of such a thing, but I knew I had to try to make them. The restaurant is 150 miles away!

Green Chile Tacos

For three tacos you’ll need:

  • 1 40z can whole fire roasted green chiles
  • 1/4 cup grated cheese
  • 6 small corn tortillas
  • olive oil
  • toppings of your choice

I used canned chiles because fresh peppers are out of season. I’m waiting patiently (impatiently) for summer so that I can make these with fresh roasted peppers.

A 4 ounce can holds 3 full peppers. Increase the recipe as needed (of course.)

In a medium frying pan, heat a tablespoon or so of oil. When it’s hot, add the peppers and cook a couple of minutes on each side. Mine didn’t brown at all, but got pliable when hot.

Set them on a plate near by and start making the shells. Lay two tortillas on the hot, now lightly oiled and chile-flavored, skillet. Use a brush to put a little oil on the other side of the tortillas. When both sides are soft and very lightly browned, sprinkle a tiny amount of cheese on one and stack them. (This is my trick for making them stay together. You can skip it if you like, or just use one tortilla per taco. I think having two really makes a difference. It makes the taco chewier and more satisfying IMO.)

Slide the double decker shell over and put one of the chiles back on the skillet. Let it get warmed through, and then put it on one half of the shell, top with some cheese, and fold over.

Push that taco over to one side and start another one. I was able to get three tacos cooking together in one pot, but only just.

That’s it. Just let the shells cook on each side until a nice golden brown.

Tacos are scrumptious every day of the year, but in the winter the traditional toppings are not in season (no fresh tomatoes for a couple more months.) I topped mine with sour cream, salsa, and some lettuce that was hanging around from before we decided to do only seasonal cooking. (Not the freshest and in retrospect I wish I’d left it out.)

The verdict: Delicious. I think next time I’d use those three peppers to make 6 tacos, because the whole chile made a sort of double layer that slid when trying to eat the goodness. I’ll also use cabbage for a topping instead of lettuce.

These tacos work for me. And I just don’t have a post in me this morning, so there is more WFMW here.

More recipes here. And here.

And here. And here. And here. And here. And here.

15 Comments

Filed under body

15 responses to “Green Chile Tacos

  1. That looks fantastic! I will certainly be trying that sometime.

  2. That looks so good it’s making me hungry … and I’ve already had dinner. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. My mouth was watering as I read this! Maybe I’ll go have a snack.

  4. Those look incredible. If only I could get anyone else in my house to eat them.

  5. Melissa

    Those look really good!!!

  6. This looks so good for today. Is it very spicy?

  7. Pingback: Food on Fridays: Lenten Lentils «

  8. Pingback: Finer Things Friday: She's Pretty

  9. Sounds simple and yummy! Those are the best recipes. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Courtney

    I made these today for lunch. Delicious!!! Thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

