My Book is on a (very non-sustainable) Adventure

I bought an apple peeler from Amazon recently (Review to come. It rocks.) and wanted to add something to my cart to bring the order over $25.00. It had to be at least $10.00, but I’d be saving quite a bit in savings…

Oh. Who am I kidding.

I just wanted the newer edition of Putting Food By.

Anyway…I got the apple peeler at least a week ago. And no Putting Food By. So tonight I looked on Amazon to see if I could figure it out. Here is the ‘in transition’ information for my book:

Date Time Location Event Details
February 14, 2010 11:57:00 PM Las Vegas NV Departure Scan
February 8, 2010 04:31:00 AM Bell CA Departure Scan
February 6, 2010 11:48:00 AM Denver CO Departure Scan
February 2, 2010 10:28:00 AM Bell CA Departure Scan
February 1, 2010 06:04:00 PM North Las Vegas NV Shipment has left seller facility and is in transit

Let me help you understand. My book was in North Las Vegas when I ordered it. That’s 250 or so miles southwest from me. They sent it, inexplicably, west to Bell, California. That’s southern California, so at least 500 miles southwest from me. And then four days later it went all the way to Denver. So well past me and now I have no idea how many miles east of me. At least 500. Probably more. And then, are you ready for this? Back to Bell, CA. That’s at least a 2000 mile round trip. And to round things off, it has now traveled the 300-ish miles back to Las Vegas.

That’s a conservative 3000 miles my book has traveled without even getting to me yet.

Nice off-set of my attempt to eat locally and preserve seasonal food, with the help of Putting Food By, to lower our carbon foot-print, huh?

3 Comments

Filed under mind

3 responses to “My Book is on a (very non-sustainable) Adventure

  1. I’d love to comment on the delivery service, but I’m afraid to jinx my next online order!!!

    🙂

    Can’t wait to hear more about the peeler!

  2. Your last sentence just made me LOL. Sometimes we just can’t win. There’s no rhyme or reason for that transit.

Leave a Reply

