I Love Thursday Afternoons

(Hey! I’m having a giveaway…nothing big, but come on by and check it out.)

Yes. Yes I really do love Thursday afternoons.

I don’t work on Fridays. Every week I have three wonderful, glorious days at home.

Sometimes I feel like I have two lives. The one where I have to wake up to a hateful alarm clock, leave the house before my belly will let me eat breakfast, and have a head full of Things To Do That I Don’t Want To Do all before 8 a.m.

And the one where I get to wake up naturally (or to my Ruby climbing into bed with me.) The one where I can write when I want to, spend time cooking something special for my family, and take a walk in the middle of the day.

Every late Thursday afternoon (in the winter the sun is just starting to dip below the mountains) I lock my office door, and feel an instant lightness. I take a deep breath of cold air and feel the tension go out of my shoulders before I even get into my car.

It certainly isn’t good to have work so disconnected from the good life. (And it isn’t the work. I love being a counselor. It’s the company I work for.) It isn’t an ideal way to be. It isn’t really even an acceptable way to be. It is leaving me resenting the time I have to spend in my work life more and more each day.

What keeps things in balance is that every week I do something that moves me toward the place where I can have the life I want all the time. A life where I work for myself. Even that super secret, deep down idea that maybe someday Kevin and I can work together, from home, doing something that feeds our souls instead of sapping them.

But for now I have Thursday afternoons. And I am so grateful for them.

I think I’m going to start a Thursday Afternoon post, with my plans for the weekend. Not because my weekends are so fabulous that everyone needs to hear about them. But because I want to make sure I focus some time each weekend on bringing that soul-feeding second-life into brighter focus.

Here is this weeks second-life plans:

1. Make homemade cleaners. (I’ll have a post up for you guys, I’m so excited about some of the things I’ve learned)

2. Order seeds. I’ve found a really cool seed company that’s actually nearly local to me (it’s in Idaho.) And it specializes in seeds for high desert, short-season areas.

3. In keeping with my February housekeeping theme, my plan for the weekend is to organize and inventory our food storage. I have an incredibly cool pantry product to review for you, too.

4. Last, but most certainly not least–we are going to pick Ruby up. She’s been visiting her grandparents for two weeks, and I’m out of my mind missing her. We were going to go all the way into Vegas, but we just don’t have the money. So we’re meeting Kevin’s mom and Ruby half-way. I can’t wait to hug that kid.

Leave a comment

Filed under mind

Leave a Reply

