Independence Days

Sharon hasn’t posted an Independence Days update in a while, but I’ve had some stuff going on that I wanted to share so I decided not to wait.

You know I read her site, or her other blog, or Life After the Oil Crash, or even just CNN and it scares me. It scares me that I don’t live in a place that I believe is sustainable in the event of the things I am afraid are on their way. It scares me that when I try to talk to my family about this, not only do they not listen, they get angry and defensive. Or they laugh. It scares me that my husband believes that staying here another six months or another eighteen months won’t really make a difference.

And what I’ve been doing to ease my fears, to make it so that I don’t spend all my time obsessing over things I can’t control, is to spend some time  taking control over what I can.

I feel better with 45 pounds of potatoes and 80 pounds of apples in my laundry room. I feel better knowing that my pantries are stocked. I have to adapt where I am, just like everyone else does. I do not believe that I can make long-term sustainability goals while we are still living here. Because I don’t think that here is going to be a viable place to live in the long run. But I can do some thing.

So here is what I’ve done since the last Independence Days post.

Plant something: Still not. But I have started saving 2 quart apple juice cans to use as pots.

Harvest something: Again, still not. But I’m really looking forward to the day when I can answer this YES.

Preserve something: I bought 80 pounds of apples and have them stored in cold storage in my laundry room. I bought thermometers to monitor the temperature in the laundry rooms, which I’m happy to report I’ve managed to get to and keep at about 40 degrees. I have 45 pounds of potatoes stored as well. I had 5 pounds of carrots that were wilting, which I grated and froze. I bought some canning jars for carrot marmelade that I plan to make this weekend.

Waste not: Those grated carrots would definitely have been tossed not too long ago.

Want not: At the grocery store the other day they had a cart filled with 2 quart cans of apple juice they aren’t going to sell anymore, marked from $3.49 to $1. I bought all 13 cans. My plan is to use the cans as seedling pots. I also bought 3 big cans of high-quality cinnamon hot chocolate marked from $6.00 to $1.50. I bought 16 pounds of oranges for cold storage.

Eat the Food: I made apple onion gravy from the apples I have stored. That had a sort of accidental applesauce stage, so now I know how to do that as well. We’ve been eating our stored potatoes 3 or so times per week. I’ve done alot of research into where our meat comes from. It’s pretty disturbing.

Build Community Food Systems: I’ve shared some ideas here on my blog and have heard back from several readers that they are Brussels sprouts converts now! I’ve also shared what I’ve learned about meat with my family (with varying success.)

2 Comments

Filed under body, mind, spirit

2 responses to “Independence Days

  1. ephemere17

    Good stuff! You’re really an inspiration! I am hoping to be more independent soon–taking baby steps. I do have seeds planted, and I did have some food storage until DH lost his job…oh well.

    • You know what? That’s a perfect example about why food storage is so important, isn’t it? Your husband lost his job. The world didn’t end in a mushroom cloud or a mudslide of economic decline. But for your family, there came a need for what you stored when you had more. I’m so happy for you that it was there.

Leave a Reply

