The Plan: Month Two

After a lot of thought, I’ve decided that February’s theme is going to be Housekeeping.

One major reason for this choice is that it will make Kevin happy, which will make him receptive to some other changes I want to make. (I’m so sneaky!)

But more than that, I’m feeling better. I have more energy than I’ve had in a long time. That makes me want to do something, but since it’s 5 degrees and snowy outside for much of February, it needs to be something indoors. What better indoor activity than housekeeping? (Shush!)

Over the weekend I got a good start on decluttering our living room. It got me thinking about how to break down the housekeeping thing. Because ‘declutter my whole house’ isn’t something that is happening in February. I need bigger-than-mini goals, but not so big that I give up. So I came up with four projects for February.

1. Food storage. We have food stored in two kitchens and two laundry rooms and two pantries, plus two fridges and a chest freezer. I want to organize it all, and get a written log. This would include any storage of non-food items. I’m kind of excited to take pictures of this for you guys.

2. Craft closet. Ruby’s bedroom closet, with the exception of her clothes hanging on the pole, has become a craft closet of sorts. Only problem is it’s a big jumble. I’ve been known to buy a new crochet hook or seam ripper rather than trying to find the one I already own.

3. Clothes.  Between me and Adrienne there is an over abundance of clothing in our house. The laundry issue is insane. Ruby’s previously mentioned closet is full of clothes that don’t even fit her anymore. Kevin is holding on to shirts that fit him 20 years ago on the off chance that they will again. Someone somewhere can use this stuff. The plan is to get it to them.

4. Books. I admit to being an addict. I love books. I adore books. I can’t imagine my life without them. A house without books actually makes me feel a little sad. But there comes a point where too much is just too much. When the bookselves are threatening collapse, I’d say we’ve reached that point. (Even my bathroom looks like a library!) It’s time to cull the stocks. Which means going through, seeing what I can sell, what I can donate, and what I want to hold on to. There are even boxes of books in storage. I’m going to see if I can pursuade my husband to bring them home for me to go through. My commitment though is to go through the books at home.

Those four projects should keep me nice and busy for the month of February, don’t you think?

Here are my February mini-goals:

  • Self-care
  • Bake one batch of perfect Gluten-free cookies.

  • Frugality
  • Don’t waste any food for the month of February.

  • Simplicity
  • I didn’t complete last month’s mini-goal, so I’m carrying it over. I really need to do this. Figure out three stressors in my life, and three ways to minimize them.

  • Sustainability
  • Buy higher-quality, ethically-sound meat and eat less of it. Also, continue to participate in the One Small Change challenge. This month’s change is to use natural, homemade cleaners.

  • Life-long learning
  • Make a project out of the fantastic book I have to review for you (I’m such a tease!) and review the book.

  • Joy
  • To earn enough from freelance writing to pay my $250 fee to Goddard that’s due on Valentine’s Day and to pay for my plane ticket to Vermont for my residency in April.

  • Forgiveness
  • To practice thought-stopping techinques (visualization especially) when I find myself getting in a loop of anger over something I should have forgiven.

  • Housekeeping 
  • Complete my February challenges!

  • Career 
  • Write for pleasure two hours a week.

  • Spirituality
  • I didn’t complete this goal last month, so I’m bringing it forward. I’m going to look for an online UU community.

  • Relationships 
  • Write a letter to mail to each of my brothers and sisters during this month.

    So there you have it. The February Plan.

    What about you? What are your plans for February?

    8 Comments

    Filed under body, mind, spirit

    8 responses to “The Plan: Month Two

    1. Wow. For a short month, you have one heck of a plan! But nothing like a good property purge to lighten the load. I always feel better after a de-cluttering. Good for you. 🙂

    2. I love these goals! It’s so nice to have them all written down in one place to remind yourself as the month progresses. What are you going to use for the homemade cleaners?

      • I haven’t totally figured it out yet. I’m trying to locate a local source for castile liquid soap. It isn’t happening. So I’m thinking it’s vinegar and baking soda until I get to a bigger town this weekend.

    3. Hmmm…I tried to leave a message twice and it apparently hasn’t worked. I’ll try again later.

    4. Shirley

      One freezer tip I read somewhere is to number same items and then start using them from the largest number. Then you always (should) know how many are left of that item.

    5. ephemere17

      I think your goals are great! I get so caught up in the nitty-gritty of goals that I get overwhelmed and just give up.

      This month, though, my goals are to get my bedroom perfectly organized, and to organize my son’s closet.

    Leave a Reply

    