Seasonal Cooking: Vegetarian Apple Onion Gravy

(I’m having a giveaway!)

So, if you’ve read my earlier post, you know that there is no way I’m eating what’s simmering away in my slow cooker right now.

(I’m hoping that when Kevin wakes up, he works an overnight shift, and I tell him what I’ve learned, no one will be eating them.)

Adrienne already wouldn’t be eating it, as she’s my semi-vegetarian who feels about pork the way I feel about mayonaise…revultion. I always have some alternative form of protein for her on pork days. Usually baked beans. I’ll be eating them with her tonight.

We’ll also have mashed potatoes. Since I have 80 pounds of apples in my laundry room, I thought I’d see if I couldn’t come up with some sort of apple gravy. Sounds good right?

Mmmhmm. Yum.

I’ve gone ahead and made it up early. Not only does that give me good light for pictures, it lets the gravy mature and the flavors combine. Also, I wasn’t sure how it was going to turn out, so I wanted time to do something different if it was a wash.

It wasn’t.

Vegetarian Apple Onion Gravy

  • 1/2 white onion, chopped fine
  • 1 T crushed garlic
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 1 pounds (I used three large) apples, peeled, cored, seeded, and chopped
  • 1/2 cup apple juice, plus more as needed
  • juice of one lemon
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • salt, pepper, crushed red pepper, to taste

Start by browning the onion and garlic in the oil over medium high heat. I cooked them about as long as it took me to peel, core, seed, and chop three large onions. About 10 minutes, since I used a knife to peel.

Turn the heat down to medium and add the apples, juices, sugar, and spices. I thought the crushed red pepper would stop this tasting like apple sauce, and I was right. It did add a bite at the end, which we love.

Let all that simmer for a while, until the apples are nice and soft. They’ll start breaking down some. About fifteen minutes on medium.

I put it all into a bowl and used my immersion blender to make it smooth. You could use a regular blender or a food processor. I think you’d get something smoother if you do, so it’s up to your taste. I wanted texture. At first I ended up with spicy, oniony applesauce. Way too thick to be gravy, so I added another 1/4 cup of apple juice and it loosened things up.

The result was a thick gravy that’s spicy, savory, and yummy. It does bring applesauce to mind, because smooth apples will do that. But it is definitely gravy. When I re-heat it for dinner, my plan is to add a little more juice. I’ll add a final picture later.

Updated:

The finished gravy was both beautiful and delicious. After spending the day sitting around, the gravy could no longer be called anything but applesauce. So I added another 1/2 cup or so of juice and blended it into submission. It became smooth and silky. It still had a tiny hint of apple pulp, so maybe the real blender or food possessor or a food mill if you want perfectly smooth gravy.

It topped mashed potatoes perfectly. Everyone loved it. Here’s the final vegetarian meal. Baked beans (recipe later in the week), mashed potatoes with apple onion gravy, and maple walnut Brussels sprouts.

More recipes here. And here. And here. And here.

And here. And here. And here. And here. And here. And here.

7 Comments

Filed under body

7 responses to “Seasonal Cooking: Vegetarian Apple Onion Gravy

  1. I will definitely be making this tonight! I have wanted mashed potatoes and gravy for a while now, but reduced my beef consumption – for environmental and health reasons. Thankfully, your recipe uses olive oil and I can avoid beef drippings.
    Your last photo is so tempting – I’ll probably be buying brussel sprouts to go along with it, too.
    Thanks for the recipe!

  2. Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe with Meatless Mondays at Sweet and Savory.
    http://sweetsav.blogspot.com/2010/02/meatless-mondays-please-share.html

    Please share with us on Mondays. You have some great ideas.

  3. That sounds and looks delicious!

  4. That gravy sounds wonderful. Thank you for linking your post to Tempt My Tummy Tuesday.

  5. Thats a great idea for a low cal topping to potatoes, I bet it would be good on other things too.

  6. Thanks for sharing your recipe with WCW.

  7. Delicious ! looks so tasty can’t wait to try !

    Thank you for sharing your recipe 🙂

    Have a great day !

Leave a Reply

