Seasonal Cooking: Baked Spinach Rice

When I saw this recipe at Easy to be Gluten Free, I knew I had to try it.

I know, I know…my family is weird. First I tell you that we love love love Brussels sprouts.

Now I’m about to let you know that another top-ten veggie favorite is spinach.

We love it sauteed with olive oil, lemon, and Tabasco. We love it in soup or stew. We just love it.

So what’s not to love about Spinach Rice? Mmmmm.

No what I hate? Cutting onions. I have super sensitive eyes, and onions are torture. But sooo yummy. So I got me a fool-proof onion chopper:

Okay, okay. Back to the recipe. I made a couple of tweaks to it. I made BBQ chicken legs for Kevin, Nick, and I. But I knew that Adrienne wouldn’t eat them. She’s mostly vegetarian, and chicken with bones is on her ‘no’ list. This would be her whole meal, so I wanted to up the protein and bring down the fat since she would be eating a meal-sized portion. I also wanted to use fresh spinach.

Here’s what I came up with. Good grubbin’ folks.

Baked Spinach Rice

Adapted from Easy to be Gluten Free


  • 3/4 bag of baby spinach (three or four good handfuls)
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 1/2 onion, chopped fine
  • 2 cups cooked rice cooked al dente in salted water
  • 4 eggs, beat
  • 4 T melted butter
  • 1 cup grated sharp cheddar cheese
  • 1/4 cup water

Grease up a 2 quart casserole and preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

I wanted this dish to be smooth and creamy, with the rice melted into it rather than separate grains. I decided to leave the rice slightly crunchy and add water before baking.

Heat the oil in a frying pan over medium-high heat. When it’s hot, add the spinach. Toss around a bit with a wooden spoon until the greens are wilted.

In a big bowl, add the spinach, onions, cooked rice, cheese, and melted butter. Scrambled the eggs in a smaller bowl and add them too. I stirred a half cup or so of the rice mixture into the small bowl first to temper the eggs.

Add everything to the casserole and then stir in the water.

My casserole has a clear glass lid. If yours doesn’t, cover with foil. Bake for 50 minutes. With a glass lid, my casserole browned on top to our liking. If you want yours browned and you don’t have a glass lid, remove the foil the last 10 minutes.

Indulge!

More recipes here. And here.

And here. And here. And here. And here. And here. And here.

And here.

6 Comments

Filed under body

6 responses to “Seasonal Cooking: Baked Spinach Rice

  1. Looks delicious!!! Thanks for sharing!

    Erin

  2. Looks delicious, I’m thinking that we are going to have to try it 🙂

  3. This sounds delicious! 🙂
    Thank you for your interest in Vintage Recipe Thursday. Our group posts vintage recipes to protect them from being lost or forgotten. If you have vintage recipes to share with the group, we would all love to have you participate each week. When you post be sure to let us the source, how old it is, etc. Thanks again for your interest.

  4. I am loving all the gluten free recipes that people are sharing tonight. Thank you for sharing this.

    Happy Foodie Friday…

    XO,

    Sheila 🙂

  5. I guess my family is weird too… we love our veggies!

    This looks wonderful. Thanks for posting it.

    🙂
    ButterYum

  6. Gollum

    This looks utterly divine. I love rice. Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe!

Leave a Reply

