Gluten-free Pizza

Our town is rural enough that we don’t get home mail delivery.

It’s also small enough and with a long enough winter that gossip is the prefered in-door activity.

So when I went to the post office this afternoon, I wasn’t surprised to learn that our Post Mistress had been fired, and then hear half a dozen guesses as to why.

But even with that juicy news, I was far more excited about this:

My flours came from Bob’s Redmill!

Check out my growing flour collection:

Cool, huh?

I was so excited to get home and open up my copy of Annalise Roberts Gluten-Free Baking Classics. I want to bake a loaf of bread from it before I write my official review. But I wanted to make the pizza recipe by the recipe, and see if it would pass muster with my gluten-eaters.

First I had to spend 30 quality minutes with my new flours, first storing them in their handy-dandy 1/2 gallon canning jars, and then mixing up the Brown Rice Mix from the book. (For the record, Bob’s Redmill’s brown rice flour is fine ground. It was soft and didn’t have any grit to it that I could tell.)

I tweaked the recipe a tiny bit. The by-the-book dough was so sticky and thick that I couldn’t get it to spread. I ended up putting it back into the bowl and adding another 1/4 cup of water. This resulted in something spreadable, between a batter and a dough. I knew this would work because when I made some sort-of-Annalise-Roberts pizza the other night, the dough was thin. Like cake batter. I didn’t even have to spread it, it just filled the pan all on it’s own (I used a smaller pan.) I’m not sure what I did wrong then, but the pizza turned out fine.

I made two pizzas, but rather than double the recipe, I made two batches. The coolest thing about gluten-free baking is that it’s so much easier gluten baking. Even with the chemistry-class mix of flours. No gluten means no gluten to activate with kneading and long rising times. I mixed this pizza dough with a wooden spoon. Once it was spread on the pans, I let it rise 30 minutes.

The recipe calls for baking the crust before you top it. I got carried away and had sauce on the dough before I remembered. I just baked it with the sauce and then added a little more when it came out. Worked just fine.  The crust had a really nice rustic look when it was baked.

We made veggie pizzas with olives, mushrooms, onion, and fire-roasted chilis. I ended up using Mexican cheese blend (jack and cheddar mixed) because I only had a little motzarella. That was the only thing I’d change. The cheese just kinda got hard instead of melting. Still tasted good, but not ooey-gooey like pizza cheese.

Another 10 minutes in the oven et voila:

The end result was a real pizza. The crust was softer, because I added more water, so it had to be eaten with a fork. (Softer like cakey, not softer like soggy. The crust reminded me of the Chef Boyardee Pizza Kits in a box, but with brown rice and millet, way way healthier. I’m sure that without the extra water it would have been crisper.) To me it was worth not wrestling with the sticky thick dough. I’m all about easy at the end of a long day.

My kids didn’t even realize it wasn’t regular wheat-flour pizza. They all agreed it was 100 times better than frozen pizza.

(I’ve emailed the authors to see if I can post the recipe. I will if they say it’s okay!)

More recipes here. And here. And here. And here. And here.

13 Comments

Filed under body

13 responses to “Gluten-free Pizza

  1. Wow, that pizza does look good! Maybe I should start making homemade pizza…. Do you ever use those baking stones?

    • I have. But this dough is really wet. I’m not sure it would work. I just used metal pizza pans that Nick got for Christmas. (He loves making those Chef Boyardee pizzas.) When I made that pizza the other night I used the bottom of my springform pan, and it worked perfect.

  2. We’ve made this crust before. It’s really yummy.
    It was definitely different to make. Wetting my hands to spread the dough was weird, but it did taste OH so yummy!!

    Enjoy all your baking goods!

    • I didn’t even think of that. I tried, before adding more water, to spread with a wooden spoon, and it was a mess. I just dumped it back in the bowl, added the water, and made it spreadable. Next time I’ll try wet fingers. What a great idea! Thanks!

  3. dtbrents

    Your pizza looks so good. Doylene

    • Thank you! It’s amazing how you don’t really appreciate things until you think you can’t have them. I’ve never been so excited about pizza in my life 🙂

  4. What a collection you have – hope you are storing them in the freezer so they don’t go rancid on you.

    🙂
    ButterYum

    • When I get bulk flours, or have extra bags, I’ll store them cold. But I’m going through these pretty quick. I don’t see any of them sitting at room temperature for more than a month or two. The experation dates on the bags is at least six months out.

  5. Looks good. We are trying to eat more vegetable and fruit and boy, is it hard to stay away from those salty meats.

  6. Pingback: Food on Fridays: Tea Distraction «

  7. Pingback: Review: Gluten-Free Baking Classics by Annailse G. Roberts « Live Once, Juicy

  8. Pingback: Finer Things Friday: Puke Partner | The Finer Things in Life

  9. Your pizza looks delicious! We go to the post office for our mail, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

