Grocery Round Up

NOTE: Our flier came in the mail today. Because we’re “platinum members” the sale prices were a little better in some cases than online, so I updated.

I’ve been thinking about this all day.

I love Grocery Round-up in theory, but I’ve always struggled to get it right. Fact is, Tuesdays are awkward for me, because I never shop in the middle of the week. I always shop on the weekend. But our new flyer comes out on Tuesday. So when Grocery Round-up day comes along, I’m already thinking about next week, and I’m making myself go backward.

So I’ve decided that instead of posting what I’ve already bought, I’m going to post the best deals out of the new flyer and my plans for the next week. This will help me way more, and I think it will be more interesting.

So here goes:

This week our local store is having a mini stock-up sale. Some of the deals aren’t bad.

  • $5 $ 3 for 30 pounds of potatoes. This is a great deal for here (17-ish cents per pound.) Potatoes last for months in my unheated laundry room, so I’m thinking of getting 60 pounds. Holy cow…this really is a great deal for here. Any idea how long potatoes will last in a semi-humid (washer and dryer in the room) very cool (refrigerator cool) condition?
  • Hunt’s canned spaghetti sauce: $.88 $.81 each or a case of 12 for $10.56  $9.72. This is a good deal as far as cheap-y pasta sauce goes. I prefer to make my own. If I pick up a case of this, it will be to satisfy my need (which I’ll write about soon) to have a supply of food on hand even if it’s not the best. Like an emergency stash.
  • Pasta: $.88  $.81 (case of 24 for $19.44) each. This is just basic white flour spaghetti. Pasta almost never goes on a sale this good around here. I’ll probably pick some up to go with my emergency stash of Hunt’s spaghetti sauce. For everyday use, I usually buy something made with whole grains that is more expensive. But it rarely goes on sale, so this would fill in the gaps until I can get out of town on a day that bigger stores are having a good-pasta sale.
  • Broccoli: $.69 per pound. I think I’ll get extra and blanch it to freeze.
  • Tomatoes: $.89 per pound. So-so price, so just enough for the week.
  • Cans of store-brand organic vegetables: $.99 We almost never eat canned veggies as a regular thing, except for corn. But I do keep a stock of canned just-in-case veggies that we eat just enough of to keep things rotated. These are usually store-brand non-organic that I get at the case-lot sale twice a year for something like 30 cents a can. I might get some organic corn, but I haven’t decided yet.
  • Hunts tomato sauce: $.29 each 8 ounce can. Case of 24 for $6.96, case of 48 for $13.92. (This is a good deal. I have a good number of cans still in my pantry from the case lot sale, so I’m not sure if I’ll take advantage of it.)
  • Hunts ketchup: $.97. Case of 12 for $11.64. Ruby is a ketchup-aholic. I’ll probably get some of this.
  • S&W canned tomatoes, 15 ounces for .$95. This isn’t a super super deal, but a good enough one and I’m out of tomatoes. Case for $11.40. I’ll probably buy a case to tide us over until the March case lot sale.
  • Cheerios: 6/$12. I just bought five boxes for $1.88 each in Elko. $2.00 a box is the best it gets here, and not a bad deal. I may get these. We don’t do gross sugary kids cereal around here, so Cheerios, Raisin Bran, Shredded Wheat, and Rice Chex are about it. All three of my kids like cereal for breakfast and for snacks.
  • Oscar Meyer beef hotdogs 2/$5. My husband and my kids l-o-v-e hot dogs. I have a philosophical problem with something called a meat weiner. So beef it is. $2.50 a package is a good not-summer price for beef hot dogs around here. I’m sure I’ll get these.
  • Smuckers Grape Jam $1.87 for 32 ounces. Case of 12 for $22.44 For my kids and husband, there is only one compliment to peanut butter. This would be it. (Me? I like strawberry, or marmalade. But my family goes for grape jam every time.) This summer, when strawberries are cheapish, I plan on making my own. In the meantime, this is a decent sale price for here.
  • Progresso Soup 10/$10. This is a favorite in our house. I’ve never seen it this low here. Usually 3/$5 is the lowest it goes, so I’ll be getting these.
  • Kiwi: 3/$1. This is the only fruit listed on sale this week. That really bites. And I’m sure these are from a couple 1000 miles away. I may or may not get them depending on that. I’m hoping that there are some unadvertised fruit specials, or we’ll have to make do with this weeks 20 pounds of oranges.

If we buy all of this stuff: $120. That includes one case of each case lot item, maximum amounts on the cereal and hotdogs, five pounds of each vegetable, 10 cans or organic corn, and six kiwi.

That’s it. Very little fresh produce on sale this week, but some ok deals on pantry items. The potatoes are the deal of the week. I’m tempted to buy even more than 60 pounds, but I’m afraid they’d go bad before we used them. Our laundry room stays cold at least until May (we’ve had snow on the last day of school every year that we’ve lived here, our winter is long.) We’ll see.

I’ve talked before about how much I love having a well-stocked pantry. It has a psychological meaning to me, that I’ll go into at a later date. But I love being able to only buy the things that are priced right, and shopping in my pantries for the stuff that isn’t.

Not only is it good for my psyche, it frees up money for stuff like the expensive flours I need or treats. I’m trying to make myself buy goats milk cheese. I love the stuff, but the only kind they sell here costs $5 for a tiny little bit. I’d love to try making my own. Does anyone have a recipe or any tips?

More round-up here.

More frugal fun here. And here.

2 Comments

Filed under body

2 responses to “Grocery Round Up

  1. I am curious to hear about how long your taters will last. I store mine in a very cool (under 60 most of the time) room that is also very dry and those darn things still sprout enough arms and legs to walk away if they had a mind too. Luckily, being in Eastern Washington, I don’t really have to worry about stocking up alot of them since they are regulary on sale for about 10 cents/lb., but if we lived somewhere else, I’d be pulling my hair out trying to figure out how to properly store them.

    • Our laundry room is more like 40 degrees in the winter. You can see your breath in there. When it warms up and gets to 60, the potatoes turn fast. But all winter, I never have any sprouting potatoes. Last winter, I was able to keep potatoes at least 6 weeks. I ran out before they went bad. We have about 45 pounds out there now, so we shall see!

Leave a Reply

