Haiti

What’s happening there is so horrible, I can’t get my mind around it.

I try to read about it online, watch the newstories on television, and I end up in a mess of tears and confusion.

I want to help. But I’m not a doctor or nurse or other professional that can go there and make a difference.

I want to help. But I don’t have a lot of money.

So I do what I can. That’s all any of us can do. And I make myself not turn away, when I can feel my mind trying not to pay attention. It’s easier to turn the channel or stay off cnn.com, isn’t it? It’s easier not to think about 50,000 (at least) dead, about orphans without food and water, nearly adopted babies who can’t get to their new families, children who had parents a week ago and who don’t today.

But, for me anyway, tuning it out isn’t an option. These people need help. We’re only one family, and we can’t make much of a difference all on our own. But we can add our efforts to those of thousands of other families.

Twenty years ago my house burned down. I was alone when it happened, with my younger sister and five younger brothers. The Red Cross stepped in. They put us up in a hotel until we could find another place to live. They coordinated efforts to feed and cloth eight people who were left with nothing.

Choosing to support the Red Cross efforts in Haiti was easy for me. There are many other programs out there, so make your choice and do what you can.

Do what you can.

To donate $10 to the Red Cross efforts in Haiti, text “HAITI” to 90999.

Go here to see what others are doing. And then do something.

1 Comment

Filed under spirit

One response to “Haiti

  1. I feel so helpless also, but lucikly we are able to give financially I just hope there are plenty of people available to help. I am so happy Red Cross was able to help you and your family I can only imagine how scary that was, bless you.

Leave a Reply

