Cabbage Soup

This is my favorite soup ever. It has such a delicious flavor and is so filling. Even my kids love it. Cabbage is full of vitamin C and lots of other good stuff. It also stores a long time, so you can stock up on the firm green heads when they’re on sale.

Cabbage has a bad rap I think. If it’s overcooked it gets a bitter flavor. But cabbage cooked properly, especially if it’s been through a frost in it’s growing process is sweet and just…scrumptious. This is my favorite way to eat it. It’s adapted from The Soup recipe in one of my very favorite cookbooks, the Dairy Hollow House Soup & Bread Cookbook.

Cabbage Soup

  • 8 cups V8 or other vegetable juice (My favorite is V8 with lemon)
  • 4 cups other liquid (I use chicken stock. You could use vegetable stock, or water with broth granules, substituting a couple of cups of water or stock for white wine is good.)
  • Gluten-free worchestireshire sauce (or regular if gluten isn’t a problem for you)
  • Tobasco
  • Salt, pepper, dried parsley
  • 1/2 a  head cabbage, chopped
  • 1 white onion, chopped
  • olive oil

First, heat the oil in a pan and add the onions. Let them get nice and carmelized while you prepare everything else.

Put  liquids in a big soup pot. You want 12 total cups. I like the 8/4 combo myself, but if you like less tomato-y soup you can adjust as you like. If you’re using granulated broth to flavor your soup, instead of using stock, add that now too.  Bring to a boil.

While the liquid is heating, chop the cabbage. You want at least four cups. Six is better. I use about half a head. When you add the cabbage to the pot, you want it to be just covered by the soup.  It’s going to cook down.

Once the stock is boiling, add salt, pepper, and dried parsley to taste. Also give it a shot of Worchestershire sauce and Tobasco. I use about a Tablespoon of Worchestershire and a dash or two of Tobasco.

Pile in the cabbage. Turn down the heat and let the whole thing simmer about an hour, or until the cabbage is soft.

The first bowl is my favorite. The cabbage still has a little bite to it. But then I let the pot sit on the stove until it’s completely cooled, and by then the cabbage has fully cooked, and that’s a beautiful thing too! My kids like it better that way.

I always make this soup when I’ve made a slow-cooker roast. The left over meat is amazing in it. Especially if it’s pork roast, which I always make in a barbeque sauce. The little bits of left over sauce do something amazing to this soup.

Yum!

More recipe swap here.

5 Comments

Filed under body

5 responses to “Cabbage Soup

  1. My cabbage soup is simmering as I write this reply! Thanks for the recipe!

  2. Pingback: January is almost gone « My failed perfectionistic journey

  3. I just tried this too. Sadly I was missing a lot of ingredients, but hey, I usually improvise anyway! No V-8? Ahhh, just add a little tomato puree to the broth. What? We USED to have worcester sauce! So I added some Siracha. oops. A little too much Siracha! A little sugar to tame the fire. Crumbled tortilla chips added a nice contrast to the smooth cabbage, a la tortilla soup. Yum! My son ate three bowls! Thanks for sharing!

  4. Jill Kelley

    I just made a variation of this soup two days ago. I call it unstuffed cabbage stew. Its basically the same as your recipe, I just added a pound of browned lean ground beef . This time, I thought I would spice it up with some cayenne pepper and jalapenos, and ruined it by adding too much. I like spice , but whew, I went over board that time.

    • This is my very favorite soup, Jill. You can do a lot with it. I’ve added zucchini before, which was good. And I always make it when I make a BBQ pork roast in my crockpot, because the left over meat is amazing in it. (I add the meat to my bowl, because Adrienne won’t eat pork so it ruins the whole soup for her.)

Leave a Reply

