Shopping Round-up

I had every intention of starting the new year by actually posting what I bought, what I saved, what I spent–and then I left the store without my reciept. Nice, eh? Grrrr!

Here are some highlights though:

I’m figuring out that even where I live, a place with no store-to-store competition and high prices, produce can be had reasonably priced if you shop in season.

It makes sense that summer veggies aren’t cheap in the winter. They shouldn’t be. And while I can’t be a locavore without starving my family, I can be as local as possible. We try to be West Coast-avores. (HA!)  No where on the west coast grows tomatoes or artichokes or other summer veggies in the winter. But we can get fantastic deals on Washington or Oregon apples, and on California oranges.

I can by a 20 pound box of oranges for $6.99 right now. And since my laundry room is large and unheated, it’s like a big old walk-in fridge and those oranges will last for weeks.

I can buy beautiful apples for .69 cents a pound. They’re big and juicy, and my kids love them.

They love bananas, too. But is it worth it to buy produce that’s been shipped who knows how many thousands of miles from Ecuador to my local grocery store? You can drive yourself crazy here. Because they bananas have already been shipped. And if no one buys them, then they go black and get sold for 1/2 price for banana bread. And then thrown away. This is one of those times when you can only do what you can do. For me and mine, I choose to buy produce that was grown on the West Coast. It’s not perfect. But it’s what we can do.

I did a little research last night, and found out that Seattle is definitely a place where being a locavore is feasible. There are services that allow a consumer to buy directly from a local organic farmer. There are also bigger services that pull together the offerings from many farmers, and other producers of food, and deliver the food directly to your door.

Seattle still isn’t 100 percent. But when we choose where we’re going to live, being able to eat more locally is high on our list. Not only because it’s good for the environment, either. No one knows how things are going to shake out with the myriad of things that are coming down the pike right now. I would like to my family to live where there is access to freshly grown food, where it’s possible to grow your own victory garden, in case. Just in case.

2 Comments

Filed under body

2 responses to “Shopping Round-up

  1. I’d love to have a big walk in fridge. Do you have problems with them freezing at all? My mother has a three season porch she uses for a similar thing. The only thing I have available is my detached garage. I’m more concerned with things freezing and exploding. I think it’s also easier to feed a family of five than of one that is two and a half.

    • I’ve never had anything freeze in our laundry room. We get super cold too–well below zero outside fairly often. We have really good insulation though, and while the room isn’t heated at all, it has a door with a glass window to a heated room (the kitchen) and that door is opened and closed several times a day (cause our washer and dryer are in there. We also have the door that goes from the laundry room to the outside pretty well sealed to keep the cold air from coming in and through to the kitchen. So I’d say it’s just regular refrigerator temp in there, not freezer. It’s cold enough that we can’t keep laundry detergent in there cause it thickens up, but we keep canned drinks there without ice or bursting all winter. Fruits and vegetables last forever in there. I’ve had potatoes last months.

Leave a Reply

