It Takes a Special Kind of Genius…

to write a book that is relevant to a five year old, and her momma.

Ruby got a copy of Dr. Seuss’s Oh, The Places You’ll Go! for Christmas today. I’ve read it to her three times already. I got to this part:

“So…

be your name Buxbaum or Bixby or Bray

or Mordecai Ali Van Allen O’Shea,

you’re off to Great Places!

Today is your day!

Your mountain is waiting.

So…get on your way!

The very last page.

How can I send my son or my daughters to their mountain moving Great Places…when I feel so stuck?

Adrienne (who was nearly named Bray after my mother’s maiden name, and has it for her second name instead) is starting her own life in 18 months. Remember when you have babies and the first couple of years you count their age in months. I had no idea that happens again when they’re 17.

I want Adrienne to know that she’ll wind up in lonely places, in scary places, in stuck waiting places in her life. But that none of them can hold her back, unless she lets them.  And the number one way I can make sure that she gets that, way down deep, is to show her.

I have a plan. And it’s a good one.

And knowing that I’m on the path to finding  the bright place where boom bands play is enough to unstick me.

After all, Dr. Seuss has 98 and 3/4 percent guaranteed success.

I am so excited for 2010.

Leave a comment

Filed under mind, spirit

Leave a Reply

