Skywatch Friday

There is this road not far from my house that’s called the Success Loop. I have no idea why, or who named it that. It’s basically a road that sort of meanders past a few small ranches, and then through a grove of birch trees, before passing the local lake. It’s only passable in the summer, which is only about three months here, because the snow and then the mud make it iffy even in the spring and fall.

Driving the Success Loop is one of my favorite summer treats. I almost always do it at least once, and almost always alone. It’s 33 miles, and it takes more than two hours due to the windiness. I offer, but usually no one wants to go with me. And that’s okay–because it’s practically a tradition for me to drive this road when the weather turns nice and just think. And bask in beauty.

I brought my camera on my annual trip this summer. Just before I got to the really windy part of the the trip, I looked up and saw this deer cloud hopping across the road in front of me. Amazing. How about you? Do you have any solitary rituals?

Check out more Skywatch Friday pics here.

4 Comments

Filed under spirit

4 responses to “Skywatch Friday

  1. It looks like a beautiful place to be alone for a while! The deer cloud is amazing. If it was windy, I imagine it changed soon after you snapped this picture.

    • It wasn’t windy. It was the most beautiful early summer day you can imagine. That deer kept me company for a nice long time. The funny thing is, when I went on that drive I’d hoped I’d see a deer or maybe an elk. The first time I ever drove the Success Loop was with my husband, and we came across an elk just standing on the side of the road. It didn’t even budge when we drove past–so close I could have petted it’s head if I wasn’t scared it would have impaled me on it’s antlers that were bigger than me. An elk, I swear, is as big as a moose.

  2. That’s such a beautiful scene. Great shot!

  3. With views like that I don’t know that I wouldn’t be more selfish and keep it to myself. Absolutely gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

