Don’t mind the gray matter…

I just finished, at 10:20 p.m., writing a 10 page research paper for my Anthropology 400 class. Native Northern Americans. That’s 10 pages with at least 15 references–peer-reviewed references–I ended up with 19. I had a really strong goal to finish this weekend, so that I could just be done and work on other final projects this week. And I did it! My brain is mush, but I did it!

I learned some very interesting things about the Indian Removal Act of 1830 and the Trail of Tears in particular. I didn’t know that there was a strong resistance movement, lead in large part by white women, and that it only passed Congress because of the Three Fifths Clause, which puffed up the Southern votes. There is a theory that the Eastern Cherokee, those who were not removed down the Trail of Tears, have been successful in holding on to their native language when so many tribes have not at least in part because keeping it was a form of passive resistance.

Leave a comment

Filed under mind

Leave a Reply

